Star Trek: The Next Generation – Season 1 (1987)

Rating: 9 out of 10.

I never thought in a million years I’d enjoy a television program that was released before I was born. Not a sitcom, not a serious hour-long drama, nothing. Yet, here we are. Star Trek: The Next Generation is a solid science fiction drama that does not feel as old as it is. I’ve heard from multiple people that the show doesn’t even get good until the third season, and yet, I found myself absolutely pulled in to these characters and this world instantaneously.

There are actually two reasons why I picked TNG as the first Star Trek series I’d ever watch. Sure, I’d seen a few episodes of Star Trek: Discovery and Picard, but not many. Both series seemed to work more for seasoned Trekkies already familiar with the world, and so I felt that before I watched the most recent series, I should at least start at the beginning, and oddly enough, The Original Series was not where I began. I began with The Next Generation. Again, I chose this series to start with for two reasons:

  1. I had always heard that Star Trek: The Next Generation was universally seen as the best series, and seeing how reluctant I was to dive into such a huge universe, I thought the best way to give myself the opportunity to become a Trekkie was to start here. After all, if I hated The Original Series and vowed to never watch another Star Trek series, then how would I know of the magnificence of The Next Generation?
  2. I was (and still am) in the middle of a Star Trek movie marathon. Once I came around Star Trek: Generations, I immediately said I needed to watch the series. I needed to see their conception.

Starting with this series was probably the right decision. It’s very…very good. I can tell you that I was maybe three episodes into the first season before I decided I was in for a wild ride. I knew I not only had six more seasons of TNG, but internally, I was preparing for every Star Trek series after this, and I won’t want to go to The Original Series or even The Animated Series until I finish everything else because I’ll just be that invested. That is, if the rest of the series are even half as interesting as this one.

You may be asking what’s so impressive or special about Star Trek: The Next Generation. For me, it’s a combination of things, all of which began with the characters and moved into the individual stories/missions of each episode that mostly still feels original to this day. Quickly going over the main characters of the series, you have:

  • Captain Jean-Luc Picard
    • The captain of the U.S.S. Enterprise (obviously). This guy exudes confidence and authority. Before watching this series, I knew Patrick Stewart more as Professor Xavier in the X-Men films, and yet…it is so easy to see him in this role, too. What’s even more important to note is how seasoned he feels as Picard. It’s like he’s been playing this character for years, already. It’s partially because of how he plays his role that everyone else on the bridge feels just as integral to the progression of the series.
  • First Officer William T. Ryker
    • The first officer is an interesting character. He’s basically the guy that does all the blunt work. Basically, when Picard makes a decision, Ryker enforces it. Though, Ryker also acts as acting captain and makes his own decisions plenty of times. He also serves as friend and confidant to Picard.
  • Data
    • Played by Brent Spiner, Data is such a fascinating character. When I first saw him, I compared him to Spock, and he might fulfill the logistical and even constantly learning aspect to Spock’s character, but other than that, he’s unique all on his own. An android that somehow stumbles onto saying the right things at the right time. The crew love him and see him as their family, even though he doesn’t fully comprehend the meaning or purpose of love.
  • Worf
    • A Klingon security officer. His character hasn’t been inspected that much in the first season. There was one very good Klingon episode that explained why he acts more human than his natural, animal side…but one episode wasn’t quite enough. I like him, but I need more Worf-centric episodes, as it were.
  • Deanna Troi
    • Troi is a counselor on the ship that often lends her empathic abilities to advise Picard on what to do next. I think her character in this first season is much more specific and unique than what I’ve seen from her in the films. I didn’t even recognize her in the movies until I looked it up and saw, yep…same person.
  • Geordi La Forge
    • Otherwise known as “The Reading Rainbow Guy” growing up, La Forge is the guy with the visor that works in engineering, but is often seen on the bridge flying the Enterprise itself. I think there’s more to explore with his character.
  • Dr. Beverly Crusher
    • Dr. Crusher is an interesting character, but I don’t think they really explored he. r much in this first season, which kind of frustrates me based on a few changes made in the 2nd season. She clearly has a thing for Picard, and it’s possibly reciprocated feelings, but other than that…I don’t know. She’s just a doctor.
  • Tasha Yar
    • Other than Worf, Tasha is the chief security officer aboard the Enterprise and I love her character. I honestly believe she had so much to offer the entire series, but again, based on things that happen throughout the season, I don’t think that’ll be the case. This is probably the biggest let down I have in the first season.
  • Wesley Crusher
    • Wil Wheaton’s character that they often talk about on The Big Bang Theory. I never thought I’d like his character. Tell me about his character before watching, and I’d guess that he’d end up being kind of annoying, but he is actually more important than I would have ever imagined. His character is kind of a genius if you think about it, and one the crew slowly grows to respect and admire.

Each one of these characters has a trait that I absolutely loved. But beyond that, we’re talking about the individual storylines and missions of the episodes and the various villains that make an impact. The biggest villain I feel like this season focused on was the Ferengi, and they just annoyed me, period. I didn’t like them at all, but the rest of the villains, planets, and episodic storylines I mostly dug.

  • The heaven-like planet where all your dreams will come true, but you’ll be put to death if you break literally any rule, big or small can be seen as a tongue-in-cheek jab at religion and the high expectations are given to people who supposedly have free-choice. Sure, you have the choice to do whatever you want, but if you don’t do what I want, then you’re going to hell.
  • The in-depth episode that takes place primarily inside the holodeck (and I love the holodeck).
  • Data acting like Sherlock Holmes.
  • Lore.
  • The self-aware episode with a planet full of strong women and weak men. You ask me, that was feminist and I dug every second of it.
  • The Benjamin Button episode.
  • The planet that kidnaps kids because they can’t have any of their own.
  • The self-aware episode of people that ignore science and mirroring themes of ozone issues, preferring to listen to an omnipotent computer that knows everything. Very bold and very ahead of its time.
  • The Klingon episode
  • The Drug-addiction episode
  • The Venom episode
  • The Conspiracy episode.
  • The finale itself, which people don’t exactly love, I was fond of. They spoke about current fads like cryogenics and they introduced the Romulans. I’ve always been a fan of cryogenics, so to see it spoken about here is fantastic.

Overall, this season is very, very good. Plus, it looks fantastic for a show that old. I know they revamped it with more modern graphics, but in doing so, they still kept the feeling and atmosphere of what the show was already going for. So, even though it looks better than when it first came out, it still fits the tone of the show, and guys…it’s immaculate. So, for my first-time viewing Star Trek: The Next Generation, I was instantly a fan, and I can say with more certainty than ever…that I am a Trekkie.

PEACE OUT

Leave a comment